The Fake Sheikh has written yet another letter to the family of Private Worsley, the Australian soldier recently killed in Afghanistan. This time, “Sheikh Haron” writes a lengthy and rambling letter which culminates in this question:
Dear John Worsley you say that you are proud of your son. Do you think the spirit of your son is proud of the Australian that has said such a big lie against a Muslim priest by taking advantage of Luke’s spirit?
This would be strange enough but now it seems the mysterious “Sheikh Haron” has engaged the services of a Sydney law firm and is sending legal threats [pdf] to News Limited in response to coverage of one of his earlier missives. As the letter, penned by Goldsmiths Lawyers states, he has two complaints:
A. In the first article, it is alleged that our client purported to be a Muslim cleric. In fact, our client is a Muslim cleric, and indeed, is properly considered to be a Senior Cleric. The imputation that clearly arises is that our client is not a genuine or legitimate Muslim Cleric.
B. In the second article, it is alleged that our client is “mysterious”. The imputation that clearly arises is also that our client is not a genuine or legitimate Muslim cleric.
Neither claim is particularly controversial when:
- Nobody seems to know who this guy is. If he is really a “senior cleric” then surely someone in the Muslim community would know.
- He doesn’t include his last name on the site nor make any mention of any “qualifications”. There is nothing to suggest he is a Muslim “cleric” other than his claims that he is.
- Although he has retained the home address [pdf] for the family of Private Worsley, this “sheikh” has gone to great lengths to remove any mention of his name or own contact details.
- His “fatwa” section does not resemble what one would expect from a Muslim leader much less someone who is “properly considered to be a Senior Cleric”.
UPDATE: The Australian has more on “Sheikh Haron” today, including reference to Muslim blogs referring to him as the Fake Sheikh.
4 comments ↓
Speaking of fake Sheikhs, I’ve been reading Sheikh Omar Bakri Muhammad’s deilghtful website (his piece on Bhutto’s death is disturbing), and also sites that point out that he lies about his qualifications. How is it that he has followers? Don’t they care?
As-Salaamu ‘alaikum,
Antish, where is the website? I’ve found media reports of it, but where is the actual site?
http://obmonline.net/ is his website.
The statement can be found at: http://windsofknowledge.muslim.....ay-of-joy/
Also on http://revival.muslimpad.com/
Leave a Comment